Health Discovery


Health Discovery is a text mining and machine learning platform for analyzing large amounts of patient data. With Health Discovery, medical documents can be analyzed and searched for diagnoses, symptoms, prescriptions, special findings, and other criteria. Heterogeneous patient data in both structured and unstructured forms can be harmonized and analyzed by text mining, and can be accessed and searched via a unified interface.

Health Discovery enables meaningful predictions regarding diagnoses and therapeutic course. Patient cohorts can be assembled with just a few mouse clicks — be it for feasibility studies and patient recruitment for clinical trials, or to support diagnosis in rare diseases, or to support medical coding specialists in medical service billing.

Averbis Health Discovery


Overview Health Discovery


The text mining pipeline from Averbis contains a variety of tools for analyzing unstructured patient data. We analyze physicians’ reports, pathology and radiology reports, and many other data sources. From this we extract diagnoses, prescriptions, laboratory values, localizations, personal characteristics, and many other types of information. Text mining takes into account specific characteristics of medical language usage. Thus, negations (“rule out”) and statements on diagnostic safety (“suspicion of”) are recognized and assigned to the corresponding entities.

Text Mining in Arztbriefen

TEXT MINING from physican reports

A variety of information about a patient’s hospital stay can be extracted from physicians’ reports. Among other things, we extract the following information in from physicians’ reports.


  • ICD-10-Code
  • Degree of safety


  • Active substance
  • Trade name
  • Strength
  • Form
  • Dosing

Laboratory Values

  • Parameters
  • Value
  • Unit

Time Aspects

  • Hospital Duration
  • Creation Date of Letter

TEXT MINING from pathology reports

Pathology reports are often recorded in an unstructured manner by means of speech recognition. To encode the information from pathology reports, we extract the following information:

  • Tumor
  • Diagnosis (ICD10)
  • Localization (ICD-O)
  • Histology (ICD-O)
  • TNM
  • Grading
  • Lymph Node Status
  • Sentinel Lymph Node
  • Receptor Status
  • Voting
  • Site
Text Mining in Pathologieberichten
Anonymisierung von Arztbriefen

Anonymization of findings

Identification and removal of personal characteristics also requires the methods of text mining. If these features are removed, they can be shared beyond hospital borders for research purposes, for example. The features identified by us are based on the “Safe Harbor” identifiers.

  • First and Last Name
  • Age
  • Biometric Data (e.g., size, weight)
  • Date
  • Addresses
  • Contact Data (e.g., telephone, mail)
  • Facilities (e.g., hospital,
  • Others (e.g., IDs, religion)

Semantic search

Semantic search allows large amounts of patient data to be searched. With just a few mouse clicks, patient data can be filtered using medical criteria such as illness, medication, abnormal laboratory values, or other patient characteristics such as age and sex. Linguistic variations such as synonyms and hierarchies are taken into account in the search, as well as statements containing negation and information regarding diagnostic certainty (“suspected of”). Through this process, high accuracy is made possible while at the same time ensuring completeness of hit numbers.

Averbis Workflow Machine Learning

Machine Learning

Machine learning makes meaningful predictions based on patient data. In the field of rare diseases, we make predictions for diagnosis, and for eye diseases, we predict therapeutic outcomes. In the context of DRG coding, we propose billing-relevant diagnosis and procedure codes, and in cardiology, we compare guidelines with patient data and identify patients who need a heart pacemaker. These and many other use cases can be realized using Machine Learning from Information Discovery.


The terminology management system from Averbis enables maintenance and extension of standard and application-specific terminologies. We give you access to a variety of medical terminologies such as ICD-10, SNOMED-CT and LOINC. The table below provides an overview of terminologies that we work with or have already worked with. We enrich these terminologies with a variety of synonyms so that we can achieve a high degree of completeness when analyzing patient data.Technologien für das Terminology-Management von Averbis

Terminologien Kategorien
ATC Medications
FMA Anatomy
ICD-10 Indications
ICD-O Oncology
LOINC Laboratory Values
MedDRA Misc
MeSH Misc
NCI-Thesaurus Misc
OPS Therapies
RadLex Radiology
RxNorm Medications
Uberon Anatomy
UCUM Units


Health Discovery can be fully customized to meet unique business needs, offering a complete set of open and standard API’s for building rich analytic apps and embedding text analytics into existing solutions. Its modular architecture allows seamless integration into existing infrastructures and third party applications.

Averbis Information Discovery Mobile

More than 1000 Document Formats

HealthDiscovery supports more than 1000 different
document formats, providing you with full flexibility.


In this video, we’ll show you how to configure Health Discovery as a text mining and machine learning platform in a few minutes minutes to analyze large volumes of medical documents for diagnoses, symptoms, prescriptions, special findings, and more.

Jetzt weitere Informationen und Demo anfordern!

kostenlos & unverbindlich


Vorname (Pflichtfeld)

Name (Pflichtfeld)

Jobtitle / Rolle (Pflichtfeld)

Firma (Pflichtfeld)

E-Mail-Adresse (Pflichtfeld)



Get more Information or schedule a FREE Demo

Use case

First Name (required)

Last Name (required)

Job Title / Role (required)

Company (required)

Email (required)

Big Data-Analysen für die Medizin

Health Discovery ist die Text Mining- und Machine Learning-Plattform zur Analyse großer Mengen von Patientendaten. Mit Health Discovery können medizinische Dokumente nach Diagnosen, Symptomen, Verordnungen, besonderen Befundmerkmalen und weiteren Kriterien analysiert und durchsucht werden. Heterogene Patientendaten in strukturierter und unstrukturierter Form werden harmonisiert, mittels Text-Mining inhaltlich analysiert, und über eine einheitliche Oberfläche durchsuchbar gemacht.

Health Discovery ermöglicht sinnvolle Vorhersagen zu Diagnosen und Therapieverläufen. Patientenkohorten lassen sich mit wenigen Mausklicks zusammenstellen – sei es für Machbarkeitsstudien und Patientenrekrutierung für klinische Studien, zur Diagnoseunterstützung bei seltenen Krankheiten oder zur Unterstützung der medizinischen Kodierfachkräfte bei der medizinischen Leistungsabrechnung.

Averbis Health Discovery

Haben Sie Fragen zu unseren Produkten?

Health Discovery im Überblick

Text-Mining

Die Text-Mining-Pipeline von Averbis enthält eine Vielzahl von Werkzeugen zur Analyse unstrukturierter Patientendaten. Wir analysieren Arztbriefe, Pathologie- und Radiologieberichte und viele weitere Datenquellen. Hieraus extrahieren wir Diagnosen, Medikamente, Laborwerte, Lokalisationen, personenbezogene Merkmale und viele weitere Informationen. Das Text-Mining berücksichtigt die Besonderheit der medizinischen Sprache. So werden Negationen („Ausschluss von“) und Aussagen zur diagnostischen Sicherheit („Verdacht auf“) erkannt und auf den entsprechenden Entitäten zugeordnet.

Technologien für Text-Mining

Text Mining in Arztbriefen

Text-Mining von Arztbriefen

In Arztbriefen könnte eine Vielzahl von Informationen über den Krankenhausaufenthalt eines Patienten extrahiert werden. Unter anderem extrahieren wir in Arztbriefen die folgenden Informationen

Diagnosen

  • ICD-10-Code
  • Grad der Sicherheit

Medikamente

  • Wirkstoff
  • Handelsname
  • Stärke
  • Form
  • Dosierschema

Laborwerte

  • Parameter
  • Wert
  • Einheit

Zeitliche Aspekte

  • Krankenhausdauer
  • Brieferstellungsdatum

Text-Mining von Pathologie-Berichten

Pathologie-Berichte werden häufig unstrukturiert mittels Spracherkennung erfasst. Zur Kodierung der Informationen aus Pathologie-Berichten extrahieren wir die folgenden Informationen:

  • Tumorart
  • Diagnose (ICD10)
  • Lokalisation (ICD-O)
  • Histologie (ICD-O)
  • TNM
  • Grading
  • Lymphknotenstatus
  • Sentinel-Lymphknoten
  • Rezeptorstatus
  • Voting
  • Seite
Text Mining in Pathologieberichten
Anonymisierung von Arztbriefen

Anonymisierung von Befunden

Auch die Identifikation und Entfernung personenbezogener Merkmale erfordert Methoden des Text-Minings. Wenn diese Merkmale entfernt werden, lassen sich Daten z.B. für Forschungszwecke über Krankenhausgrenzen hinweg austauschen. Die von uns identifizierten Merkmale orientieren sich an den „Safe Harbor“ Identifiers.

  • Vor- und Nachname
  • Alter
  • Biometrische Daten (z.B. Größe, Gewicht)
  • Datum
  • Adressen
  • Kontakdaten (z.B. Telefon, Mail)
  • Einrichtungen (z.B. Krankenhaus,
    Stationen)
  • Sonstige (z.B. IDs, Religion)

Semantische Suche

Die semantische Suche ermöglicht die Durchsuchbarkeit großer Mengen von Patientendaten. Mit wenigen Mausklicks lassen sich Patientendaten anhand medizinischer Kriterien wie Krankheiten, Medikamenten, auffälligen Laborwerten oder anderen Patientenmerkemalen wie Alter und Geschlecht filtern. Sprachliche Variationen wie Synonyme und Hierarchien werden in der Suche ebenso berücksichtigt wie Aussagen zu Negationen und diagnostischer Sicherheit („Verdacht auf“). Somit wird eine hohe Genauigkeit und gleichzeitig eine hohe Vollständigkeit der Treffermenge ermöglicht.

Averbis Workflow Machine Learning

Machine Learning

Machine Learning ermöglicht sinnvolle Vorhersagen auf Basis von Patientendaten. Wir machen im Bereich seltener Krankheiten Vorhersagen zur Diagnose und sagen Therapieverläufe bei Augenkrankheiten vorher. Im Kontext der DRG-Kodierung schlagen wir abrechnungsrelevante Diagnosen- und Prozeduren-Codes vor, in der Kardiologie gleichen wir Leitlinien mit Patientendaten ab und identifizieren Patienten, die einen Herzschrittmacher benötigen. Diese und viele weitere Use-Cases lassen sich mit Machine Learning von Information Discovery realisieren.

Terminologie-Management

Das Terminologie-Management-System von Averbis ermöglicht die Pflege und Erweiterung von Standard- sowie anwendungsspezifischer Terminologien. Wir geben Ihnen Zugriff auf eine Vielzahl medizinischer Terminologien wie ICD-10, SNOMED-CT und LOINC. In der nebenstehenden Tabelle sehen Sie eine Übersicht über Terminologien, mit denen wir bereits gearbeitet arbeiten. Wir reichern diese Terminologien um eine Vielzahl von Synonymen an, so dass wir eine hohe Vollständigkeit bei der Analyse von Patientendaten erreichen können.Technologien für das Terminology-Management von Averbis

Terminologien Kategorien
ATC Medikamente
FMA Anatomie
ICD-10 Indikationen
ICD-O Onkologie
LOINC Laborwerte
MedDRA Misc
MeSH Misc
NCI-Thesaurus Misc
OPS Therapien
RadLex Radiologie
RxNorm Medikamente
SNOMED CT Misc
Uberon Anatomie
UCUM Einheiten
UMLS Misc

Adaption und Integration

Health Discovery lässt sich leicht auf individuelle Kundenbedürfnisse anpassen. Durch webbasierte Schnittstellen lassen sich mächtige Analyse-Apps auf Basis von Health Discovery entwickeln. Die modulare Architektur ermöglicht eine nahtlose Integration in bestehende Infrastrukturen.

Averbis Information Discovery Mobile

Mehr als 1000 Formate

Health Discovery unterstützt mehr 1000 verschiedene Dokumentenformate und bietet Ihnen damit eine vollumfängliche Flexibilität.